Kellie Claflin

Tips for implementing SAE and FFA in the classroom?

Discussion created by Kellie Claflin on Nov 9, 2013
Latest reply on Nov 17, 2013 by Kellie Claflin

As a beginning teacher, I knew that I wanted every student in my classroom to have a supervised agricultural experience. I wanted them to have a project that they took interest in with a connection to agriculture. Over the next couple of years, students have done well with selecting an SAE and collecting basic data. I set aside each Friday for them to update their journals. I love learning about what students are doing outside of class and what they are learning.

It’s easy to assess how students are feeling about the classroom instruction through body language and class participation. I don’t expect 100% of students to LOVE my class and work hard to try to reach a diverse group of students and learning styles. Even though I teach in a rural community and many students are connected to agriculture, the term is still slightly taboo at school.

AE This makes introducing SAE slightly challenging. I go through examples, have scoured through resources to form a presentation to introduce the four types of projects and my requirements through the Agricultural Experience Tracker - weekly updates with goals and reflections and 7-9 hours a quarter. It wasn’t surprising but it amazed me how many students had projects that they could use, but didn’t connect that the dots.

As the quarter came to an end, life in the ag department was slightly stressful catching up from national convention and getting grades in the gradebook. It seemed that the comments from students regarding SAE were somewhat negative. Over the past week I’ve really struggled with the idea of having every student have a SAE. I decided to put together a survey for students and was actually pretty nervous for the results.

When I checked on the results, I was astounded.

• 68% of students already had an SAE as part of their normal schedule