Julie Fritsch

NAAE Member Matt Eddy Wins CCFF Agriscience Educator Award

Discussion created by Julie Fritsch on Jul 17, 2012
Latest reply on Jul 27, 2012 by Matt Eddy

On July 10, the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation and the American Farm Bureau Federation presented the Third Annual Agriscience Awards, presenting $17,000 in monetary awards at a luncheon ceremony in Washington, D.C.


"Today we honor four remarkable individuals who are involved in a wide range of agricultural pursuits," said Maria Lombardo, Ed.D., Chair of the Foundation. "From a global leader in agricultural scientific research, to a high school educator who immerses his students in agricultural studies, to two high school students who are conducting groundbreaking research, this year's Agriscience Awards recipients are truly inspirational," said Dr. Lombardo.


Matthew Eddy, NAAE member and agriculture teacher at Southeast Polk High School in Pleasant Hill, IA. has taught agriculture for 13 years. Participating in the inaugural CASE curriculum institute in 2009, he earned the level of Master Teacher in 2012. Matthew's agriculture program emphasizes STEM concepts in agriculture, a rigorous curriculum that has been recognized on the State and national level. He was recently recognized as having the Iowa Outstanding High School agricultural education program and as a finalist for the National Agriscience Teacher of the Year Award.


"I am very honored to be named the 2012 Agriscience Educator Award winner," said Mr. Eddy. "I am truly excited about the innovative CASE curriculum we have created to highlight STEM connections involved in agriculture for students who will become the future agrarians of our world," Eddy said.


For more information about the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation and their Agriscience awards, read the attached news release.


Congratulations Matt Eddy!