10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 5, 2014 8:54 AM by Melanie Bloom

Planning Inquiry-Learning or Problem-Based Units

Melanie Bloom Top CoP

The past couple of years our school has been focusing on inquiry-learning and/or problem-based-learning during professional development.  I also used this topic in my Creative Component for my Masters.  This does NOT mean that I am an expert, but maybe some of my ideas will help others.

First - many of us have heard the "ABC" method - Activities Before Content - and it's actually a proven technique when used correctly.  The research I combed through says to design your unit plan beginning with the most tactile, experiential activities and ending with reading and research.

Second - design your unit with a Guiding Question - it shouldn't be an easily-answered question - it's even better if it challenges the students.  For example, some of the questions I came up with for a horticulture class was "What would the world be like without the sun?" (light unit) and "Should we use chemicals to increase food production?" (plant hormones and chemical control of plant growth).  The students walk in, see the question on the board and some of them get fired up and start talking about it right away.  Great lead-in.  During the unit, hopefully they'll formulate their own response to that question.  Each student might have very different response, but they should be able to back it up with some logic.  I also have a few sub-questions (these kind of work as daily or lesson objectives).  My questions are based on my previously-used unit objectives.

I made a unit plan template (which I do not have saved electronically anymore, but I use copies for each unit, and give each unit a tab in a three-ring binder).  The headings on my unit plans are as follow:

• Guiding Question (and sub-questions)